• We've got stellar workshops for members and non-members alike.
  • Our 2013/2014 In Dialogue Reading Series continues with wonderful events in 2014. Check out the details here.
  • Free to members, our Blue Pencil Sessions help you hone your craft. Find out more here.
  • Want to support Manitoba writing? Consider a financial donation to the Manitoba Writers' Guild. Click here to make a donation.
  • workshops1.gif
  • IDsmall.jpg
  • zanzibar.jpg
  • make.jpg

News & Events

  • April 28, 2015

    2015 Manitoba Book Awards Winners!

    The Manitoba Writers’ Guild, together with the Association of Manitoba Book Publishers,would like to

    congratulate the recipients of the 2015 Manitoba  Book Awards!


    MBA Winners 2015 (1 of 1)


    Alexander Kennedy Isbister Award for Non-Fiction/ Prix Alexander-Kennedy-Isbister

    pour les études et essais more »

  • April 15, 2015

    Roar Back to the 20’s at the 2015 Manitoba Book Awards!

    bookawards invite

  • 2015 Manitoba Book Awards Shortlists

    The Shortlists Are In!

    more »

  • March 25, 2015

    Join us Sunday, March 29!

    Garry Ryan Workshop EVite 03.15

  • March 18, 2015

    Coming Soon: 2015 Manitoba Book Awards Shortlists!

    We are now only five weeks away from the Manitoba Book Awards and are excitedly planning what is sure to be an incredible evening! This year’s event takes place at a new location, the Skyview Ballroom at the Marlborough Hotel, which has special meaning to us as it’s where Sir Arthur Conan Doyle stayed on his visit to Winnipeg in 1923. As such, we have decided to have some fun with a theme for this year’s event: the 1920’s! Dress in your vintage best as we share in delicious drinks, savoury snacks & compelling conversation while we celebrate the work of our talented friends and colleagues.

    We are especially excited as this year we introduce two new awards: The Beatrice Moisionier Aboriginal Writer of the Year Award and the Chris Johnson Award for Best Play by a Manitoba Playwright. We are thrilled that we were able to add these two new awards to the repertoire, which allows us to recognize even more Manitoba talent in our literary community.

    This is an event you don’t want to miss! All are invited (you do not have to be a Manitoba Writer’s Guild Member to attend) and the event is free! Invites will go out by the end of the month to our members and nominees. For more information, please contact Rhiannon Maskiw-Connelly, Event Coordinator at events@mbwriter.mb.ca or 204.990.4182.

    Anxious to know who is up for an award? We won’t keep you waiting much longer! As always, it was a tough process with so many talented writers, publishers and books to choose from, but our jurors have narrowed it down to a few per category and the shortlists for each award will be ready early next week.  We will be announcing the shortlists for each award Friday, March 27th! Keep your eyes peeled for this special announcement!

  • March 12, 2015

    Upcoming Events!

    MWG Event Calendar 03.15

  • October 21, 2014

    2015 Manitoba Book Awards


    2015 Manitoba Book Awards: For those ready to submit, updated submission forms will be ready late next week. Regular submissions will be accepted throughout November, with late season submissions until early January.