News & Events

  • Manitoba Book Awards Evening

  • Manitoba Book Awards Recipients


    Congratulations to all the recipients of the 2016 Manitoba Book Awards:

    Lansdowne Prize for Poetry | Prix Lansdowne de poésie

     Niche by Basma Kavanagh, published by Frontenac House Poetry


    The Manuela Dias Book Design and Illustration Award(s) |

    Prix Manuela-Dias de conception graphique et d’illustration en édition

     Design Category :

    The Land We Are: Artists & Writers Unsettle the Politics of Reconciliation, edited by Gabrielle L’Hirondelle-Hill and Sophie McCall, cover design by Sébastien Aubin, interior design by Relish New Brand Experience, published by ARP Books

     General Illustration Category :

    Warehouse Journal Volume 24, edited and cover design by Amanda Austin and Ainsley Johnston, published by University of Manitoba Faculty of Architecture


    Children’s Illustration Category:

    Alexia Wants to Fly by Talia Pura, illustrated by Wai Tien, published by Lily Star Press


    Mary Scorer Award for Best Book by a Manitoba Publisher

    Prix Mary-Scorer pour le meilleur livre par un éditeur du Manitoba

     Life Among the Qallunaat by Mini Aodla Freeman, edited and with an afterword by Keavy Martin and Julie Rak, with Norma Dunning, cover design by Mike Carroll, interior design by Jess Koroscil, published by University of Manitoba Press

     Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction

    Nightwatching by Méira Cook, published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.

    Alexander Kennedy Isbister Award for Non-Fiction

    Prix Alexander-Kennedy-Isbister pour les études et les essais

     Letters to Brian: A Year of Living and Remembrance by Martha Brooks, published by Turnstone Press


    Award for Lifetime Achievement: Morley Walker


    Beatrice Mosionier Award for Aboriginal Writer of the Year Award

    Prix Beatrice-Mosionier pour l’écrivain.e autochtone de l’année

    1st place recipient:

    Chantal Fiola

    2nd place recipients:

    Roland Vandal

    David Alexander Robertson


    Carol Shields Winnipeg Book Award

    Prix littéraire Carol-Shields de la ville de Winnipeg

    Winnipeg Cooks: Signature Recipes from the City’s Top Chefs by Robin Summerfield, published by Figure 1 Publishing


    Eileen McTavish Sykes Award for Best First Book

    Street Sex Work and Canadian Cities: Resisting a Dangerous Order by Shawna Ferris, published by the University of Alberta Press


    McNally Robinson Books for Young People Awards (younger)

    Fur Is Only Fur Deep by Julia Schettler, illustrated by Sarah Neville, published by Peasantry Press

     McNally Robinson Books for Young People Awards (older)

    Forever Julia by Jodi Carmichael, published by Great Plains Teen Fiction, an imprint of Great Plains Publications

    Michael Van Rooy Award for Genre Fiction

    Put on the Armour of Light by Catherine Macdonald, published by Dundurn


    John Hirsch Award for Most Promising Manitoba Writer

    Prix John-Hirsch pour L’écrivain.e manitobain le plus prometteur

    Chantal Fiola

    McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award

     The Reason You Walk by Wab Kinew, published by Viking, an imprint of Penguin Canada Books Inc.