Manitoba Book Awards

MBA_logoThe Manitoba Writers’ Guild, together with the Association of Manitoba Book Publishers,would like to congratulate the recipients of the 2015 Manitoba  Book Awards!


MBA Winners 2015 (1 of 1)


Alexander Kennedy Isbister Award for Non-Fiction |

Prix Alexander-Kennedy-Isbister pour les études et essais


Detachment: An Adoption Memoir by Maurice Mierau, published by Freehand Books


Beatrice Mosionier Aboriginal Writer of the Year Award |

Prix Beatrice-Mosionier pour l’écrivain/e autochtone de l’année


Deborah L. Delaronde


Carol Shields Winnipeg Book Award |

Prix littéraire Carol-Shields de la ville de Winnipeg


John Paizs’s Crime Wave by Jonathan Ball, published by University of Toronto Press


The Chris Johnson Award for Best Play by a Manitoba Playwright |

Prix Chris-Johnson pour la meilleure pièce par un dramaturge manitobain


The Secret Mask by Rick Chafe, published by Playwrights Canada Press, Toronto


Eileen McTavish Sykes Award for Best First Book


Magpie Days by Brenda Sciberras, published by Turnstone Press


John Hirsch Award for Most Promising Manitoba Writer |

Prix John-Hirsch pour l’écrivain manitobain le plus prometteur


David Alexander Robertson


Lansdowne Prize for Poetry |

Prix Lansdowne de poésie


Stowaways by Ariel Gordon, published by Palimpsest Press


Le Prix littéraire Rue-Deschambault

De l’amuïssement des certitudes par Laurent Poliquin, publié par Jacques André éditeur


Manuela Dias Book Design and Illustration Awards |

Prix Manuela-Dias de conception graphique et d’illustration en édition


Design Category (emphasis on cover design and typography):


Devil in Deerskins: My Life with Grey Owl by Anahareo, edited and with an afterword by

Sophie McCall, published by University of Manitoba Press, cover design by Mike Carroll,

interior design by Jessica Koroscil


Children’s Books/Graphic Novels Category:


Cassie and Tonk, created and illustrated by Justin Currie, written by GMB Chomichuk,

robotic reference by Will Liddle, published by Chasing Artwork


General Illustration Category:


Warehouse Journal Volume 23, edited and designed by Liane Lanzar and Kevin

Complido, published by University of Manitoba Faculty of Architecture


Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction


Mr. Jones by Margaret Sweatman, published by Goose Lane Editions


Mary Scorer Award for Best Book by a Manitoba Publisher |

Prix Mary-Scorer pour le meilleur livre par un éditeur du Manitoba


Sanaaq: An Inuit Novel by Mitiarjuk Nappaaluk, transliterated and translated by Bernard

Saladin d’Anglure, translated from French by Peter Frost, published by University of

Manitoba Press


McNally Robinson Book for Young People Awards


Younger category


Hokey Dowa Gerda and the Snowflake Girl by M.J. Matheson, published by Peanut

Butter Press


Older category


The World Outside by Eva Wiseman, published by Tundra Books


McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award


The Opening Sky by Joan Thomas, published by McClelland & Stewart


Lifetime Achievement Award


Wayne Tefs